Rachel Segalman

Rachel A. Segalman received her B.S. from the University of Texas at Austin and Ph.D from the University of California, Santa Barbara. She was a postdoctoral fellow at the Université Louis Pasteur before joining the faculty of UC Berkeley and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratories from 2004-2014.  During a portion of this time she also served as the Materials Science Division Director at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratories. In 2014, she moved to UC Santa Barbara to be the Kramer Professor of Chemical Engineering and Materials and became Department Chair of Chemical Engineering in 2015. In 2018 she also became the Schlinger Distinguished Chair of Chemical Engineering and the Associate Director of the UT/UCSB/LBL EFRC: Center for Materials for Water and Energy Systems.  She is the co-editor of the Annual Reviews of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and an associate editor of ACS Macro Letters.  Segalman’s group works on controlling the structure and thermodynamics of functional polymers for energy applications including polymeric ionic liquids and semiconducting and bioinspired polymers.  Among other awards, Segalman received the Andy Acrivos Professional Progress Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the E.O. Lawrence Award from the U.S. Department of Energy, the Dillon Medal from the American Physical Society, and is an Alfred P. Sloan Fellow and a Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar. She is also a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering.